Horslips

Horslips

Love the cover for this album.  Horslips passed me by in the 70s, my parents lived down the road from one of the band members some years back and this stirred a curiosity on my behalf.  A relatively expensive buy for me at £5, but vinyl plays without any noise, so a result.  An “innovative and much imitated Irish folk-rock band” according to ‘The Guinness Who’s Who of Seventies Music’, I was rather surprised to find the album on the DJM label.  When I think of DJM I tend to think Elton (pre Rocket), not a liking of mine!

At first I found side one very lightweight – then realised that I hadn’t pressed the source direct switch on my amp….  a very different sound emerged, less pop, made me think of a folkified, tender Thin Lizzy at times.  An album to grow on me I think – something I experienced a lot back in the day, but less so with music of today.  Released in 1976, this was apparently the band’s highest charting album.

Leave a Reply

